#40 Mother’s Day, Arentin’i & Elder Modisakeng, and Vanjombory & Akoho

Week 40.6This week had some significant ups and downs. First off, we had a great week starting on Tuesday through Thursday.  After district meeting, Elder Modisakeng wasn’t feeling so hot, but he still wanted to work so we did.  We had a great lesson with one of our investigators that afternoon with Alfred and we taught him about baptism and the gift of the Holy Ghost.  He was amazed at it and continues to express his desire to get baptized although he is taking care of his bed-ridden wife.  He continues to feel the spirit and loves the homework we give him.  In his words he described our last lesson “Notsapako ny fahatsapana mahamay ao amin’ny tratro mandritra ny manontolon’ny lesona ary mahatakatra ny maha-zava-dehiben’ny batisa,” which being translated: ‘I felt a warm feeling in my chest during the whole lesson and understand the importance of baptism.’  He is continuing to progress and has incredible faith and the Lord will provide a way for him to attend church.  We teach him again tomorrow and I know it will be great.

Week 40.2
a local dish I made for my sick companion

On one of the downs, Elder Modisakeng got sick Thursday night and it lasted all the way to Sunday night and it’s still going, but he’s getting better.  He came down with a really bad head cold and has just been exhausted so he’s been sleeping and taking some medicine to help relieve him.  He’s doing a lot better now and we are probably going to go out to work tomorrow.  He’s a trooper and works really hard and it was difficult keeping him in the house because he just wanted to work despite his sickness.  But from the advice we received from President Foote, “It’s better to sit out a few days and heal up, than a few weeks when it has gotten worse.”  Wise words and Elder Modisakeng is doing great.

Week 40.7Anyways, as all of you mother’s know it was Mother’s Day yesterday.  So I got to have a wonderful skype time with my family and I love them so much.  Especially my mother.  Although I always love my mother, it is better to tell her face-to-face through skype 10,000 miles away.  I love her so much and she has done more than I have done for myself in life.  She is the most selfless person and does the best at her job and that’s being a mom.  She supports me in everything and there is no other scripture that describes her better than this: “Yea, and are willing to mourn with those that mourn; yea, and comfort those that stand in need of comfort, and to stand as witnesses of God at all times and in all things, and in all places that ye may be in, even until death” (Mosiah 18:9).  She is the greatest.  Mom, I love you. ❤  Speaking with my family is always incredible.  The little siblings keep getting taller and their voices deeper.  Especially Carter, he’s fourteen years old, tall as a redwood and has a very deep voice.  At first I thought it was either something wrong with their microphone or my speakers, but everyone else sounded pretty good.

Week 40.5I love my family, they are incredible and always help me to be a better human being and that is why the family is so important.  I love Madagascar.  I’m grateful to be part of an eternal family that extends beyond the grave, I love Sean my father, Rebecca my older sister, Jam the most handsome man, Carter the redwood, and Harrison the inventor and creator he is.  My family is the greatest and I’ve come to appreciate them more as I haven’t been around them constantly. And most importantly, I love my Heavenly Father and His Son’s extending grace.  Have a great week everyone and be safe 🙂 Week 40.3

Leave a Reply

