#28 Splits w/Elder Jensen, Maroshoa & Gymming

Week 28.2So, this week was pretty great.  As always, miracles were seen, testimonies were strengthened, and lives were touched.  I’m just going to go right into it.

This last Saturday was splits with the Zone Leaders.  I went with Elder Jensen, in our area, and Elder Wilson (my comp.) went with Elder Leo in his area.  Elder Jensen is a stud, he’s from Tremonton, Utah and one of the greatest hicks I’ve ever known.  He’s not really that much of a hick because he’s been in Madagascar for about 18 months, but he’s still great.  Anyways, we had a great day and he is insanely good at the language, and more importantly, explained doctrinal principles and teaching lessons in easy, simple, graspable ways.  Week 28.3We had a wonderful split and I learned a lot from him, what a great leader he is!  It is always great to work our area.  Ambolomadinika is by far the greatest area in Madagascar.  I love it here.  Unfortunately, there is a 95% chance that I’m being transferred this next Monday because I’ve been in this area for 6 months already.  It’s been great.  I’ve grown so much in every aspect of my life and I have grown to love the ward, it’s members and the investigators.  I love it here.

On to the miracle.  Yesterday, right before sacrament meeting started, a somewhat familiar face came and sat down next to Elder Wilson and I.  I didn’t recognize him immediately.  I asked for his name and he replied “Maroshoa.”  Everything flashed into my head about him.  So, back when I was getting trained by Elder Nelson in October, we found this family.  Maroshoa is the dad and the mother is Gididy.  They have 3 little toddlers and they are just so maditra sometimes.  Anyways, they were a little serious about learning the gospel back then, we taught them about the restoration of the gospel, gave them a Book of Mormon, and taught them the Plan of Salvation in about a three week span.  They didn’t come to church and eventually their schedule didn’t allow us to visit them.  They showed up to church two weeks in a row at the end of December and gave us their address because they moved their house.  After trying for 3 hours, we couldn’t find it, and found out they moved again after we asked their neighbors.

THEN, Maroshoa came to church! I didn’t recognize him because this time he had a buttoned up long sleeve shirt, with dress pants, clean shaven all around.  This time, I was talking to a completely changed, different person.  While we were sitting there, I was talking to him and he had brought his Book of Mormon with him.  I asked him if he was still reading and he replied that he had been, every day.  I was very surprised.  Then, kind of doubting his reply, asked where he was at in his reading.  He showed me.  He had read 233 pages and was in Alma chapter 2.  He says that it is the truest book that he has ever read and loves it more than anything he owns.  I was awe-stricken.  We immediately built a program with him and set up a rendezvous point tomorrow, to teach him and his family, and to show us where he lives.  It is going to be exciting.

Week 28.4Next off, this morning we went to a gym in a wealthier side of Toamasina.  This is the first time we’ve been.  My companion Elder Wilson used to be really bokana (buff) before the mission and has long since missed the gym.  Well, after passing by it a few times, we decided to go this morning, and it was great.  I am dead.  Elder Wilson is doing great and we loved it.  It feels really nice to work out well.  So the guy that is in the picture is the guy that owns the cyber that we are at right now. He is way cool and super buff, he’s a tank.  We got a picture with him, and he destroys us all.  While we were there, he was squatting 165 kgs, for those fitness guys out there.

Anyways, that’s my miracle this week and like I said, it was great.  I love being in Tamatave, but unfortunately this might be my last week here. I will let you know when I find out.  I love the Book of Mormon and the truths that it teaches us and challenge you all to read it once a day, even if it just a verse.  I hope you all have a great week and enjoy your families.

Week 28.7
Elder Wilson gave Jake this gem for Christmas.  He had it made into a ring.
Leave a Reply

