#3 Departing Elders, Nashville Tribute Band & Ping Pong

week-3-2So, the MTC this week has been going by very fast!  Time is literally flying and we are going on to our fourth week here.  At exactly one week from today, we will be getting our flight plans for Madagascar, and I am beyond excited.  The MTC is absolutely awesome and I love it, but I just really want to be in the field!

Anyways, this week was filled with plenty of highs and lows.  First off, Saturday night our entire branch got together and had a meeting.  In that meeting each branch sang a church hymn in their mission tongue.  I cannot tell you how intense the spirit was there.  My favorite to sing was the Tongan ‘I need thee every hour.”  All of the missionaries that left were great guys.  I want to do a big shout out to Elder Begman and Elder Guymon, they are the best Fijians out there and are going to do wonderful things in Fiji.  They are the two guys in the picture below with the ties on, Elder Begman is from New Zealand, and Elder Guymon is also the guy I had a shaving cream fight with.  Also, Elder Bethea, was a great example to me and helped me out when I was pretty sick.  Elder Vest, I can’t thank you enough for finding my sweet lemur tie bar and you’ve always got a smile on your face!  Elder Manu, for giving the best hugs and being one of the friendliest elders in the field.  Elder Huber (Weston), for being such a great Elder, teammate in soccer, and friend before and during the mission, he’s a great guy and will do many great things in Samoa.  And last but certainly not least, Elder Wilson.  This guy is the best and destroy at basketball and will break your ankles!  The link below is a video of them doing the Haka! These guys are the best and I know they will forever change the lives in Samoa, Tonga, and Fiji.

week-3-3Second highlight of this week was the Nashville Tribute Band.  The came for our Sunday devotional and I thought I’d never have so much fun.  The music they played was like a Christian rock and I loved it!  My favorite song they sang was ‘The Hardest Thing I’ve Ever Loved to do,’ I definitely recommend you listen to it.  We sang a few songs with them as the choir and it was such a pleasure to sing along side such great members of the church and musicians.  It was a wonderful experience to feel them bear their testimony about the Savior, His atonement, Joseph Smith and the restoration of the true and everlasting loving gospel of Jesus Christ.

So, my Mom absolutely rocks for sending me a cool little portable ping pong set so we could play in our dorm on p-day!  We’ve started small tournaments and it’s so much fun.  Elder Gardner and I have been having some pretty intense matches, but he’s come out on top most recently 😡  Don’t worry, it won’t be that way for long.

week-3-1Well, this week is going awesome and the language is coming along very well.  Elder Allen and I taught our investigator Solo and Jaque a 30 minute lesson about the restoration purely in Malagasy with no notes or anything!  Just Ny Bokin’i Mormona sy Ny Baiboly.  I’m excited with the progress we’ve all begun and achieved.  I now know how to pray, testify, and ask someone to be baptized in Malagasy with no helps.  The gift of tongues is real.  Fantatro fa mpaminany marina Thomas S Monson.  Fantatro fa tenin’ Andriamanitra ny Bokin’i Mormona.  Misaoatra izaho noho ny ity toria ny filizantsarako ity.  Tiako ny nampianatra amin’ny Jesoa Kristy.  Tiako ny distrika Malagasy.  Fantatro fa ny Jesoa Kristy sorompanavotana noho ny fahotana tany isika.

Tiako Ianareo!

From private email:  It’s so great to hear that everything is going awesome at home!  THANK YOU THANK YOU for the ping pong and snacks, those are delicious!!! I’ve shared with a bunch of my roommates and we are having a splendid time playing some intense ping pong matches on small tables.  I have a few requests of stuff that you could send me before I leave.  1) Some pants from Aeropostale with these specific details (Gray, Skinny style, 32 waist, 34 length).  2)  Five of the nice orange 3-star ping pong balls.  3)  Another set of those Eagle-Brand highlighters-crayon things to mark the scriptures.  Thank you so much!  I love you guys and this is the best experience of my life!  I cannot wait to get to Madagascar and be humbled so dearly. 

Leave a Reply

